New Equipment, What Would You Choose?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I’m on a mission from God to get the band no DJ Bus back online! (no Elwood or Jake!) I’m going to be playing mostly GB gigs, weddings, birthday and anniversary parties, pagan rituals and the likes! No club work! Also, I’m a Pro Audio guy so I do not want junk! I need just about everything for Equipment!

1st Software? In my past DJ life I used Virtual DJ & PCDJ Dex. Now seems like Serato has the Market?

2nd Hardware controller: dependent on software which I seem to be leaning towards Serato is there a decent controller with good specs that is better for DJs doing functions vs. club work? The new Denon MCX8000 is nice but seems like an overkill, and feel I’m paying a premium for a controller that doesn’t need a computer, but I can’t see using those little screens and searching through song folders quickly without a keyboard and mouse? Also looking for a good road case dependent on controller selected?

3rd Regardless of the controller, I’m thinking of adding a 2nd rack, road case that will accommodate an Allen Heath (type) 10 channel mixer up top. My thought is to bring the controller main outs into the mixer, in the same road case as the mixer add a Furman rack mount AC strip and something like a Sure BLX/PG58 dual Handheld wireless system? Plus add a wired Sure SM58 as backup mic into the mixer. Using 5 out of the 10 channels will give me room to add a stereo mini cable for iPad etc… and added mics, keyboard, Guitar if need.

4th speakers: I went to B&H, Guitar Center and Sam Ash in NYC and compared the QSC K12 with Ksub, Bose FI with Sub, and EV EKX 12P with 15P sub, I was hoping to hear the PreSonus studio live speakers but not popular enough for anyone to have them connected!

Also looking for speaker tripod stands that have some type of lift assistance, i.e. hand, auto?