I Can't Dmx Obey 4 D-fi 2.4 With Slimpars

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Enyko, Aug 24, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Enyko

Enyko Member

Hey crew,

I've scoured the internet and although there are MANY "how to" and "unboxing" videos on the Obey 4, the SlimPars and both together, I cannot find anywhere that tells me what the DMX channel should be for the SlimPars. Yes, I'm new to DMX so maybe there is something obvious I'm missing. But here is what I've done;

DMX cable out of the Obey 4 into my SlimPar 64 (DMX IN).
    Turn both units on.
    Tried setting the SlimPar to;
    • 3-CH, DMX 1
    • 3-CH, DMX 5
    • 3-CH, DMX 17
    • 3-CH, DMX 512
    • 7-CH, DMX 1
    • 7-CH, DMX 5
    • 7-CH, DMX 17
    • 7-CH, DMX 512
    Moved sliders, hit buttons and clicked all fixture buttons on the Obey 4.

Nothing worked. I tried a number of different SlimPars and different DMX cables as well. I actually ordered the Obey 4 from IDJNOW. When I couldn't get it to work, I sat on the phone with one of their reps who walked me through a bunch of tests but he told me to send the unit back because it must have been faulty. Now this is the 2nd Obey 4 I'm trying that still won't talk to my SlimPar. Which makes me think I'm doing something wrong.

Any thoughts guys?

Thanks!

2. NickyB

NickyB Gear and Equipment Moderator