1. Welcome to the new Mobile Beat forums! Your user name and password works just as it did before. If you have any trouble logging in please contact loginhelp@mobilebeat.com

    Thanks,
    The Mobile Beat Team

Add-A-Tap for Uplights

Discussion in 'Tools Of The Trade' started by MKR160, May 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MKR160

    MKR160 Mobile DJ

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Hello. This may seem like a strange question to some, but I was wondering for those of you who use uplights, do you use the Add A Tap outlets? If so, do you make them or buy them like that. Seems like a good idea but I'm not sure how to go about this. Thanks for any assistance.
     
  2. BillESC

    BillESC Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    10,168
    I sell a ton of Add-a-Taps, Add-a-Plugs and Zip cord. Almost all of it is for uplighting. We stock black, white and brown.
     
  3. Chuck The DJ

    Chuck The DJ Here There & Everywhere

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    1,358
    I've been using add-a-taps since around 1990 give or take,,, they are great.... I have used them where I shouldn't but have never been let down...
     
  4. -bp-

    -bp- For Position Only

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,789
    Yep. For certain jobs, they are unbeatable. You ca make them up beforehand, or onsite. Measure, click, done.
     
  5. MKR160

    MKR160 Mobile DJ

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Ok. So you make them yourselves? Thanks for the replies.
     
  6. Jason Cathcart

    Jason Cathcart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,517
    If you're running LED uplights this seems like a good solution.

    If you're running standard bulbs, I wouldn't go this way, there will be too much draw on the line.
     
  7. BillESC

    BillESC Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    10,168
    All depends on the lamps being used. You can string up to ten 75w halogens on Zip cord.
     
  8. NickyB

    NickyB Gear and Equipment Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    10,229
    Not crazy about add-a-taps because they're two pronged. I did find some power cords by Ninja that have outlets every five or ten feet depending on which model you purchase. I built my own power cords ..... using 14/3 SJ wire and a dual duplex receptacle every 10 ft. ; six outlets per. They're 70 ft long and can be daisy chained. I built four of them and run one per wall with an original Chauvet wireless dmx.
     
  9. DJSTEVEZ

    DJSTEVEZ DJ Emeritus

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    6,967
    I get the broad concept of an "add-a-tap", I'm just not sure what one looks like.
    Would anyone be a so kind as to post a picture?
    Why you ask? After Mr. Lynch's commentary on Battery Operated Up-Lighting, I'm rethinking it. -Z-

    Are these the "add-a-taps"of which you all speak?
    [​IMG]
    -Z-
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2012
  10. DJ Biff

    DJ Biff ProDJ Sponsor

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,752
    Stage Ninja a good quality, USA made product. They are more expensive, but they take a beating. We are dealers, and use them on our commercial rental jobs.
     
  11. Steve Lynch

    Steve Lynch Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,164
    Add a taps are a staple in my book.

    I buy them by the 100's from lighttrader.com

    In quantity, you can get them for as low as $.50 each.

    18 Ga. cable is rated for between 600W and 850W per 100' depending on where you look.

    I routinely run 15 36 watt LED fixtures off of one run, and the cable never even warms up.

    here's a link to the ones we're all talking about steve.
    http://www.lighttrader.com/item_detail.aspx?ItemCode=ed114
     
  12. fbeweds

    fbeweds New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    90
    So i'm thinking about trying this out, but i see that all the add a taps are only 2 plug. My LED uplights are 3plug can i get an adapter and then use the 2plug add a tap.
     
  13. NickyB

    NickyB Gear and Equipment Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    10,229
    Just my opinion but ....

    Not real crazy about the Add-a-Tap system. I've worked with one and they're really cheaply made and only offer a two pronged AC outlet. Most fixtures I've worked with have three pronged plugs. I hate running hazardous wiring in public places. You never know what kind of stupid things people will do.
     
  14. MBM

    MBM New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    I used them often, with my Chauvet LEDRain56 cans, mine were the 2 prong versions, always worked great, and it was much easier to tape down the wires being smaller gauge. I now have a large bag of these I don't use anymore, since I bought the Cube 4s fixtures.
     
  15. bb

    bb Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,713
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page