Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Register Now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,036

    Mackie & QSC Mixed

    Till my KW181 comes in here is my problem. I have 2 Mackie SRM 450 and 2 QSC K-10 and 1 Mackie Sub which has a crossover.

    I want to go in to the sub and out to the Mackies then pig tail to the K-10's What wil it do to the sound of the K-10's or am I Ok with this setup one time?????
    Jerry Taylor
    A-1 Entertainment
    Dallas, Texas

    www.a1dj.net

    Founding President : Dallas/Fort Worth ADJA Chapter
    Current Vice President

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Kilmarnock, VA
    Posts
    10,097
    Why do you want 4 tops?
    Thanks,
    Bill Cronheim - ESC, Inc.
    Backstage since 1973

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Boardman, OH
    Posts
    2,789
    Actually, with one Mackie Sub (The SWA-1801?) you'd be fine with just the 450's. But to answer your question, yes, you can do that and the K-10's will sound fine. Just make sure you use the high pass output on the sub. I'd try the 450's and the K-10's and see which sounds better. I bet just the K-10's with the sub would sound pretty sweet.
    Thanks!

    Brian Price
    www.djbrianprice.com
    www.luminousevenings.com
    www.schooldancecentral.com

    The things you own, own you.
    -Tyler-

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Eagle Beach
    Posts
    6,816
    Quote Originally Posted by BillESC View Post
    Why do you want 4 tops?
    A) Because the Temptations won't tour alone
    B) Because that's what the four "bottom" guys asked for (silly)
    C) Why do you want to know?
    D) My Mother taught me to never answer a question with a question.

    Bill, if I didn't know you better, I'd say you were baiting .

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,036
    Reason I may need four tops is I'm doing a small prom and I've never been to the place, its out of state. BP I'm not sure the Mackie sub has a high pass out. I''m borrowing the sub. I think I'll setup the 450 and K10 tops and listen, I want to make sure I have enough sound.

    Thanks for the advice.
    Jerry Taylor
    A-1 Entertainment
    Dallas, Texas

    www.a1dj.net

    Founding President : Dallas/Fort Worth ADJA Chapter
    Current Vice President

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Boardman, OH
    Posts
    2,789
    Jerry, I had to look, but whether it's an older SWA-1801 or the newer SRM model, it will have both full range and high pass XLR outs. When you hook up the 450's, run them high pass and leave the Contour switch on the back of the 450's out (off) This combination sounds great and allows you to trim off some of the harsh high end on the 450's with eq. The result should be very pleasing. Both models have a phase switch on the back, too. If you run the sub with the volume at 12 o'clock, you'll get all the bass necessary to complement the 450's. If the bass sounds weak, try reversing the polarity by putting the phase switch in the opposite position. Sometimes, the results can be quite dramatic.
    Thanks!

    Brian Price
    www.djbrianprice.com
    www.luminousevenings.com
    www.schooldancecentral.com

    The things you own, own you.
    -Tyler-

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,036
    Thanks for the info. I'll follow it.
    Jerry Taylor
    A-1 Entertainment
    Dallas, Texas

    www.a1dj.net

    Founding President : Dallas/Fort Worth ADJA Chapter
    Current Vice President

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Kilmarnock, VA
    Posts
    10,097
    The 450 and K10's both have a 90 degree spreads, adding the second speakers may cause more trouble than the boost in output is worth.
    Thanks,
    Bill Cronheim - ESC, Inc.
    Backstage since 1973

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    1,053
    The QSC's have a switch for use with external sub. I always switch to that once we get to dance volume.
    http://www.musicsourcedj.com
    Member of the
    American Disc Jockey Association
    and Springfield Local Favorites

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by BillESC View Post
    Why do you want 4 tops?
    I can't help myself.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2011 Mobile Beat Magazine
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com