Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Register Now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

User Tag List

View Poll Results: bridge mono vs parallel mono

Voters
12. You may not vote on this poll
  • bridged

    8 66.67%
  • parallel

    4 33.33%
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    on a rock in the middle of the pacific ocean
    Posts
    1,664

    Bridge Mono vs Parallel Mono

    referring to another topic's post, is bridge mono really worth it? putting a lot of extra stress on your amp for a few decibels more? is the headroom space worth it?

    i hope i setup this poll thing right...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cleveland Ohio
    Posts
    65

    parallel,

    dont kill your amp,, Parallel is the way to go..

    Ive been doing this over 12 years, And ive learned the hard way by pushing amps to hard...

    Parallel is sooo smooth and just like the posts from the other Discussion, it will give you the trueness you are looking for..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    LOST
    Posts
    957
    can someone explain paralell mono please.
    Chris

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    AZ, U.S.
    Posts
    64
    Parallel mode:
    Using only one channel input, feeds both channel of the amp. Eliminating the "Y" adapters. You will have 2 channels with the same signal (mono).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    on a rock in the middle of the pacific ocean
    Posts
    1,664
    did i even setup the poll thing right? i don't see any changes...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Cleveland Ohio (Medina)
    Posts
    1,086
    I tried to vote but it didn't work....


    anyway, as long as you have the right ohm load on your amp, then there is nothing at all bad about bridged mono. Where you will run into problems is if the impedence drops too low, like 2ohms.

    MOST DJ amps are most powerful at 4ohms, so if you can get a 4ohm load on the amp, it will not overstress it in any way.
    Rob Freedline

    Good Vibrations Special Event DJs & Entertainment
    "Enhancing Special Days In A Personal Way"
    www.goodvibemobiledj.com
    330.431.4954

    ADJA Member

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    South Beach, Florida
    Posts
    507
    Do you lose stereo sound when you go parallel on your tops?
    __________________________
    DJ Mike P
    Aural Landscapes Inc.
    South Beach, Miami Florida

  8. #8
    we are not using the term stereo so um yeah

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    LOST
    Posts
    957
    the reason I asked on parallel mono is because there apparently diiferent ways to do it. 1 input channel or the Crown Macro-Tech way which will let you run as low as 1ohm. Running the 1 input channel way only uses the amp as y cable but doesn't net you any difference in power. for example, if you have a PLX3402 that you run in "parallel" mode with a pair of 8ohm subs you are sending each one of them 700watts. now if you take the same PLX3402 and run it in bridge mono mode with the same pair of 8ohm subs, you sending each sub 1700watts. thats A LOT of headroom!

    If you have an amp that is designed to run at 2ohm stereo/4ohm bridge then bridgeing the amp is no problem. for instance, the PEAVEY PV line states that they are not recomended "for continuous 2ohm operation" while the crown CE4000 says that it is suitable for continuous 2 ohm use. The same holds true with the PLX line and many other "DJ amps". most Dj's cant afford nor are the willing to haul around the weight of an amplifier that is capable of producing 1500+watts @ 8 ohms(without being bridged) to drive their subs and have headroom to spare.
    Chris

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Ventura County, CA
    Posts
    172
    Quote Originally Posted by Aural Landscapes
    Do you lose stereo sound when you go parallel on your tops?
    Yes. But don't worry about it. Stereo is only effective if your audience is in the sweet spot. The layout of many situations prevents this. Hearing one channel of stereo (but not the other) is a lot worse sounding than two speaker mono (aka binaural).

    In terms of perceived sound quality, there is a big difference between monaural (1 speaker) and binaural (2 speakers). The perceived quality difference between binaural and stereo is much smaller.

    I actually have my setup configured in stereo. I use the stereo/mono switch on my mixer when I find myself in situations that demand mono. I would guess this occurs about 50% of the time.
    Experience: It is what you get when you don't get what you want.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2011 Mobile Beat Magazine
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com